Practice Exams:

Best Entry-Level IT Certifications

Starting a career in the IT industry is sometimes a hectic experience. Some individuals will succeed in their first attempt whereas others especially those who have little or no computer experience must get support so that they can understand their career before upgrading to a job.

Most individuals wanting to get into the IT sector are slightly experienced, however, they desperately finding an appropriate IT and computing experience. If you are a newcomer in the IT sector and you want to enter into the sector but you are unable to, getting certified is the best thing to start with.

A certification will act as a route to demonstrate that you have the skills and capabilities to take the work and complete it successfully.

In this post, we have listed some of the best entry-level IT certifications for newcomers who are considering getting into the IT industry. Note that you do not need to have prior experience and you can take the certification immediately, you also don’t need to have practical experience or theoretical background and it takes a short time to study the exams.

Let’s get started!

Certified Ethical Hacker

A CEH is a professional capable of identifying a threat in software and network systems and makes use of the knowledge and skills of a malicious hacker but in a legal and genuine way to verify the security stance of a target system. To achieve this certification, you will need to take a single exam. The exam contains 125 multiple- choice questions and takes 4 hours to complete. This certification focuses on educating the public that an individual meets the requirements or has exceeded the minimum standards and also reinforces ethical hacking as an exceptional and self-governing profession.

Microsoft Technology Associate -Developer

The MTA certification is an incredible entry-level IT certification for SUPPORTING AND DEVELOPING Microsoft products. A Microsoft Technology Associate professional works specifically with the Ms. Suite of technologies to develop software that executes on Windows-based devices.

To become an MTA, you do not need to have prior knowledge of the IT field but you must pass the Microsoft Exam 98-361. Note that there are numerous exams you can choose from apart from the 98-361 for you to achieve the MTA certification.

Once you achieve this certification, you can further take more advanced developer certifications like Microsoft Certified Systems Developer.

CompTIA A+

The Computing Technology Industry Association-CompTIA aims at enhancing the education and verifying experience with its complete vendor-neutral certification exams. This is the best entry-level IT certifications for newcomers. It acts as a building block.

The topics covered by this certification include installation and configuration of computer systems, fundamentals of computer systems, and basic networking. CompTIA A+ equips individuals with the capabilities to install and configure computer operating systems and also configure networks and emails for mobile Android and iOS systems.

To learn this certification, you will go through a process of disassembling old PCs and learning each feature understanding how each feature works and where it should be installed in the PC motherboard.

Cisco Certified Technician- CCT

If you are knowledgeable about computers and you are looking to enter into the networking side of IT setup, Cisco offers a good certification for entry-level network technicians known as the CCT.

Once you achieve this certification, you can expect to work as a practical Cisco hardware technician responsible for repairing Cisco routers and switches as well as other network related gadgets, installing, and troubleshooting.

Cisco offers 3 specializations within the CCT certification namely Data Center, Telepresence, Routing, and Switches.

CompTIA Network+

The Network plus certification is also another best entry-level certification for newcomers in the IT sector. The plus certification covers some physical networking components of the IT but it doesn’t go deeper into the understanding required to get an entry-level networking position. However, you can invest in both A+ and Network+ so that you can better your resume and increase the chances of landing an entry-level job.

In fact, most beginners invest in both A+ and Network+ training so that they can save on the separate costs.

Cisco Certified Network Associate – CCNA

The Cisco Certified Network Associate- CCNA certification exam doesn’t require formal fundamentals, however; the Cisco Certified Entry Network Technician- CCENT certification is a fantastic entry-level point to equip you for a progressive CCNA certification.

Once you achieve the Cisco Certified Network Associate certification, you demonstrate the skills to install, operate, and set up innovative switches and routers. CCNA certified professionals are also capable of identifying and resolving networking hitches and can specialize in wireless or voice networking and security. Skills required for CCNAs are organizational skills, analytical skills, communications skills and more.

CompTIA Security+

The CompTIA Security+ is a crucial entry-level IT certification for beginners looking to get into the IT industry. Organizations and companies have been hit with countless security threats worldwide and this makes individuals with security background or certifications be valuable assets. CompTIA Security+ certification does not only prove an individual’s knowledge of security models, tools, and measures but also proves that a security personnel is capable of detecting vulnerabilities and safeguarding organizations and companies against security threats. The CompTIA Security+ certification proves an individual’s capabilities in cryptography, threats and weaknesses, application, data and host security, as well as network security.

Cisco Certified Entry Network Technician- CCENT

The Cisco CCENT certification is best for individuals who are Network+ certified or those with an entry-level knowledge of networking. The CCENT is a certification that broadly covers networking but mostly covers Cisco’s branded hardware and software.

To achieve this certification you need to take the Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices Part1 or ICND1 exam and pass successfully. The ICND1 exam touches broadly on installation, operation, and troubleshooting of network gadgets and some few security models as well as the fundamentals of routing and switching.


The above best entry-level IT certifications are incredible ways to prove the skills you have gained in lecture rooms, as a beginner and the fact that IT is a rapidly growing industry; IT certifications can be good blocks to start with.

We hope that our list will help you when choosing the best entry-level IT certification suitable for you.

Add Comments